Out and about 

It’s happened. I finally decided that I am no longer going to hide who I am anymore. I came “out of the closet” as they say. I told my parents the truth about me and my sexuality. They took it surprisingly well. Then came the time to tell friends and other family. For some reason, the idea of telling everyone else the truth bothered me almost as much as telling my parents… If not more. I guess it made me realize I was putting myself out there, leaving myself open for judgment from everyone. I never knew just how much I valued the opinions of others until I sat down with myself and realized I was “in hiding” because I was afraid of what “they” would say. Thanks to a couple of friends giving me a whole lot of courage, I am over that.
Somehow though, I think my timing couldn’t be any worse. A majority of people are under the impression that I am fresh out of a relationship. I think some of them think this is a phase or perhaps for revenge. I mean, it seems so out of the blue. Honestly, I played the “perfectly straight girl” role very well. I even had one ex try and talk me out of dating a female because it doesn’t make sense to him. So I think maybe I should explain a few things

-I am not “fresh out of a relationship”. I moved out in February, yes, however he left the relationship emotionally in October and I have pretty much been single since then.

-I am technically not “gay” so much as bisexual. I am attracted to both females and males but I would say it’s 60/40 girl to guy on the attraction scale.

-I didn’t just figure this out. I have known my sexuality since high school, I chose to ignore it.

-No, this is not a phase.

-This is not out of revenge against anyone.

-Yes I am dating a girl and yes I am happy.

-I am aware that this is a shock to a lot of you.

-For those of you that have given me your support, I love each and every on of you.

-For those of you that would like to tell me why you disagree with what makes me happy, don’t. I don’t care.

-I am an open book. If you have any questions, ask me. I don’t mind.

Hopefully, this clears a few things up for you all.
 
 
 

12 thoughts on “Out and about 

  1. acquiescent72 says:

    As a fellow bisexual, I need nothing cleared up. 🙂 I hope all goes well for you and always be happy about who you are.

  2. i cried myself to sleep after reading this. Ever since we met back in anonymous year I’ve been patiently waiting to express my uncontrollable excitement every time I see your face. Though I’m happy that you are happy, I’ve always imagined how it would be to date you. Your personality and the way you carry yourself is extremely attractive, often finding myself laughing at the things you say. Well congrats to you and your girlfriend, may your happiness be everlasting.

Leave a Reply

