For you or for me?

Have you ever reached a point in life where you realize you are living for other people and not yourself? I think that is where I am right now. I haven’t been living for me because I have been so afraid of being judged. I am the good daughter. The respectful daughter. The professional daughter. I am supposed to get married to a good Christian man, have 2.5 children, buy a house, put up my white picket fence, get a dog, and live the “good” life. And that’s what I have been trying to do, strive for the life I am *supposed* to have. What if the life I am supposed to have isn’t the life I want? I mean, I do want to get married. I want the house. I thought I wanted children but the more I think about it, the more it scares me. But what I wonder most is this; do I continue to “love” who they want me to love or who I want to love?

Leave a Reply

