Thoughts of a sad heart.

How much is someone supposed to take? How strong is someone supposed to remain in the face of adversity? Everyone tells you to remain strong. If not, pray. Ok, then what? I prayed for my mother to live. I prayed for her to win the battle against her cancer. Instead she died in front of me when I was only 16. It’s been 14 years and the hole in my heart that losing her has left is still there. It’s a sadness, a pain that can’t be described. Yet I have put on that I am strong. I have everyone believing I am healing. I hide the desperation. Can no one see the pain in these eyes? Has anyone ever looked long enough to actually see through the facade? I guess not… So I soldier on. Pick up the smile, put in on, make sure it’s straight, and make believe.

Leave a Reply

